Join ISPP   Member Login

About Us

Division of Plant Physiology, Indian Agricultural Research Institute

The genesis of Indian Society for Plant Physiology dates back to August 1957, when during the annual session of the Indian Science Congress, Professor K.V. Thimann from Harvard University, U.K., felt an urgent need to organize the Plant Physiologists under a common framework. A meeting was therefore, convened under the chairmanship of Shri Boshi Sen to explore the possibility of forming Indian Society for Plant Physiology. An adhoc committee was constituted with Drs. J.J. Chinoy, K.K. Nanda and R.D. Asana as members.
In January 1958, the Indian Science Congress was held at University of Allahabad, U.P. where Prof. K. Mothes of the University of Halle, Germany, chaired a session attended by one hundred Plant Physiologists. A decision was taken unanimously to form Indian Society for Plant Physiology and also to publish a journal in the name of Indian Journal of Plant Physiology. The Indian Society for Plant Physiology was registered under Societies Registration Act XXI of 1860: S/1355 in the year 1958. The Government of India sanctioned a grant of Rs. 1500/- to publish Indian Journal of Plant Physiology in the year 1958.